Around the Internet

The New P20 Bill

My sister went home last December 23 with an “early Christmas present” for me. Well, it was not actually for me to use, but for me to blog about.

She went to the bank earlier that day, and was surprised to get a rather unusual peso bill. After further inspection, she found out that it was the new P20 bill!

I believe I’m not authorized to reveal the new design yet. I’m not even daring to call this as “first and exclusive” here on my blog. And I fear that if I post a high-resolution picture of it here, counterfeiters would take advantage.

So, here’s a low-resolution picture of the obverse (front) side of the new P20 bill:

New P20 billCheck out the new designs of other peso bills here.

My sister assumed that the Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas (BSP, the Central Bank of the Philippines) issued these new paper bills for the public to critic, before they mass-produce it and put into circulation in 2011. Maybe those of low denominations (the P20, P50 and P100 bills, I think) would be the first ones to be issued.

I don’t know, however, if it would be deemed as legal tender as of this moment (meaning you could use it for your purchases, and be accepted by business establishments).

The new design now looks like most paper bills all over the world, like the euro. The Philippine coat-of-arms, and the new logo of the BSP are prominent in the design. Of course, it features the signature of our current President, Benigno Aquino III. Former President Quezon looks younger, too.

On the lower right side of the bill is the word “Pilipinas” (I assume) written in Alibata, our earliest Tagalog alphabet/syllabary.

The Malaca├▒ang Palace, which is currently on the back of today’s P20 bill, is now in front, on the right side of Pres. Quezon. On his left is an illustration of the proclamation of Filipino as the National Language in the then-National Assembly in 1935.

On the back side of the new design is the Banaue Rice Terraces and was credited as a UNESCO World Heritage Site, together with an illustration of the Palm Civet, a rare animal found only here in the Philippines.

Personally, I love the new design of the P20 bill. It subtly promotes our history, tourism, and the presevation and protection of endangered species right here in the country.

I can’t wait to get hold of the new designs of the other peso bills.┬áMy sister said she wouldn’t spend the P20 bill she got.

4 thoughts on “The New P20 Bill

  1. my bad…yes it’s pilipinas when you read it backwards but the character say “pilipina” only it’s some kind of rules in using alibata removing the last consonant…

  2. my bad, yes it’s pilipinas when read backwards..but the character displays only word “pilipina” it’s some kind of ruling in using alibata, removing the last consonant…that is why instead of pilipinas it became pilipina

Leave a Reply

