2013 Elections / Local Candidates (2013)

Local Candidates 2013: Makati City

Three years ago, QWERTY Attorney ran a series of blog entries featuring the local candidates in Metro Manila during the 2010 national elections.

This year, for the 2013 midterm elections, Pinoy Index takes the helm. And, just like in 2010, we start at the blog owner’s hometown, Makati City.

Updated Feb. 14, 9:30 PM – Bondal and Peña are running-mates. Bondal is running under the Nacionalista Party.

2013 Elections: Makati CityThe Binays continue to be a major name in Makati City politics, with the country’s Financial Capital being their baluarte (fort) for nearly three decades, and Vice Pres. Jejomar Binay (one of the three founders of the United Nationalist Alliance) having been its mayor for over two-thirds of that time. But unlike in previous elections where mayoralty challengers were actors and political luminaries, the 2013 race for Mayor looks to be a simple match-up.

Lawyer and former Brgy. Palanan chairman Renato Bondal attempts to unseat the Vice President’s son, re-electionist Mayor Jejomar Erwin “Junjun” Binay [UNA]. Bondal declared himself an Independent, but is running under the Nacionalista Party (NP) banner. His running-mate is incumbent Vice Mayor Romulo “Kid” Peña, Jr. [LP], who is gunning for a second term.

Peña, the running-mate of former Vice Mayor and former Binay ally Ernesto Mercado in 2010, goes up against one formidable opponent: city administrator Marjorie de Veyra [UNA], who had been groomed by Mayor Binay to be his elected “right-hand person” as early as 2011.

Incumbent Reps. Monique Lagdameo and Mar-Len Abigail Binay seek a second and third term, respectively, in Congress. Fourteen of 16 current councilors in both districts are re-electionists, including former actor Monsour del Rosario. Another actor, Jhong Hilario, wishes to succeed his father, Virgilio, in the City Council.

[ Sources: The Philippine STAR | Philippine Daily Inquirer | Manila Standard Today ]

Names in italics are incumbent candidates running for re-election.

Mayor Jejomar Erwin BINAY Rene BONDAL [Ind./NP]
Vice Mayor Marjorie DE VEYRA Romulo PEÑA, JR.
1st District
Monique Yazmin Lagdameo Virgilio Batalla [Ind.]
Edilberto Cuenca [AKP]
Miguel Lopez, Jr. [Ind.]
1st District
Mayeth Casal-Uy
Monsour del Rosario
Ferdinand Eusebio
Jhong Hilario
Arnold Magpantay
Romeo Medina
Tosca Puno-Ramos
Ichi Yabut
Arthur Cruto
Glenn Enciso
Lance Beltran [Ind.]
Raymond Kahiwat [Ind.]
Anthony Lichauco [Ind.]
Leandro Nadal [Ind.]
Donato Peregrina [Ind.]
Perfecto Santos [Ind.]
Donato Teodoro [Ind.]
Jessielyn Trinidad [Ind.]
2nd District
Mar-Len Abigail Binay Joel Sarza [Ind.]
2nd District
Israel Cruzado
Ma. Theresa de Lara
Henry Jacome
Leo Magpantay
Nelson Pasia
Vincent Sese
Mary Ruth Tolentino
King Yabut
Efren Arenas
Ernesto Aspillaga
Jun Opoc
Nemesio Beare [Ind.]
Roberto Brillante, Jr. [Ind.]
Mariano Cruz [Ind.]
Antonio Manalili [Ind.]
Nenita Manongsong [CDP]

[Ind.] – Independent
[AKP] – Ang Kapatiran Party
[CDP] – Centrist Democratic Party of the Philippines


To view the local candidates in other areas, keep visiting this blog for updates, or click here to visit COMELEC’s interactive “List of Candidates for the 2013 National and Local Elections” page.


3 thoughts on “Local Candidates 2013: Makati City

  1. Pingback: Makati Local Candidates and Mock Elections 2013 - Halalan 2013

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s