Lawyers in the 15th Congress of the Philippines (Initial List)

Over at QWERTY Attorney, in a post about the 15th Congress of the Philippines: House of Representatives, Mr. Leonardo Nolasco asked this question in the comments section:

How many congressmen are lawyers?

Being as curious as Mr. Nolasco is, Pinoy IndexĀ attempts to find out.

From the current members of the 15th Congress of the Philippines (as of this writing), here is an initial list of representatives who are in the Complete List of Attorneys in the Philippines (as posted on last November 2009).

This is an unofficial list of lawyer-lawmakers in the Philippines. More verifications are underway, so please stay tuned. Also, if you noticed an error, please post the correction in the comments section below. šŸ™‚

  1. Romeo Acop [Antipolo City, 2nd District]
  2. Giorgidi Aggabao [Isabela, 4th District]
  3. Emmeline Aglipay [DIWA Party-list]
  4. Jorge Almonte [Misamis Occidental, 1st District]
  5. Mercedes Alvarez [Negros Occidental, 6th District]
  6. Rolando Andaya, Jr. [Camarines Sur, 1st District]
  7. Juan Edgardo Angara [Aurora, Lone District]
  8. Sergio Apostol [Leyte, 2nd District]
  9. George Arnaiz [Negros Oriental, 2nd District]
  10. Godofredo Arquiza [SENIOR CITIZENS Party-list]
  11. Daisy Avance-Fuentes [South Cotabato, 2nd District]
  12. Arlene Bag-ao [Akbayan Party-list/Dinagat Islands, Lone District (OIC)]
  13. Pangalian Balindong [Lanao del Sur, 2nd District]
  14. Elpidio Barzaga, Jr. [DasmariƱas City, Lone District]
  15. Rodel Batocabe [Ako Bicol Party-list]
  16. Franklin P. Bautista [Davao del Sur, 2nd District]
  17. Feliciano Belmonte, Jr. [Quezon City, 4th District]
  18. Mar-Len Abigail Binay [Makati City, 2nd District]
  19. Trisha Bonoan-David [Manila, 4th District]
  20. Salvador Cabaluna III [1-CARE Party-list]
  21. Justin Marc Chipeco [Laguna, 2nd District]
  22. Neri Colmenares [Bayan Muna Party-list]
  23. Ronald Cosalan [Benguet, Lone District]
  24. Cinchona Cruz-Gonzales [CIBAC Party-list]
  25. Simeon Datumanong [Maguindanao, 2nd District]
  26. Raul Daza [Northern Samar, 1st District]
  27. Arthur Defensor, Jr. [Iloilo, 3rd District]
  28. Antonio Del Rosario [Capiz, 1st District]
  29. Rodolfo FariƱas [Ilocos Norte, 1st District]
  30. Antonio Ferrer [Cavite, 6th District]
  31. Orlando Fua [Siquijor, Lone District]
  32. Arnulfo Fuentebella [Camarines Sur, 4th District]
  33. Alfredo Garbin, Jr. [Ako Bicol Party-list]
  34. Pablo P. Garcia [Cebu, 2nd District]
  35. Mylene Garcia-Albano [Davao City, 2nd District]
  36. Sharon Garin [AAMBIS-OWAĀ  Party-list]
  37. Eduardo Gullas [Cebu, 1st District]
  38. Magtanggol Gunigundo [Valenzuela City, 2nd District]
  39. Nur Jaafar [Tawi-Tawi, Lone District]
  40. Edcel Lagman [Albay, 1st District]
  41. Isidro Lico [ATING KOOP Party-list]
  42. Roy Loyola [Cavite, 5th District]
  43. Eleandro Jesus Madrona [Romblon, Lone District]
  44. Rodante Marcoleta [ALAGAD Party-list]
  45. Francisco Matugas [Surigao del Norte, 1st District]
  46. Raymond Democrito Mendoza [TUCP Party-list]
  47. Emil Ong [Northern Samar, 2nd District]
  48. Elmer Panotes [Camarines Norte, 2nd District]
  49. Marlyn Primicias-Aggabas [Pangasinan, 6th District]
  50. Romero Federico Quimbo [Marikina, 2nd District]
  51. Jesus Crispin Remulla [Cavite, 7th District]
  52. Rufus Rodriguez [Cagayan de Oro City, 2nd District]
  53. Ferdinand Martin Romualdez [Leyte, 1st District]
  54. Pedro Romualdo [Camiguin, Lone District]
  55. Roman Romulo [Pasig City, Lone District]
  56. Cesar Sarmiento [Catanduanes, Lone District]
  57. Victorino Dennis Socrates [Palawan, 2nd District]
  58. Lorenzo TaƱada III [Quezon, 4th District]
  59. Jerry TreƱas [Iloilo City, Lone District]
  60. Sherwin Tugna [CIBAC Party-list]
  61. Niel Tupas, Jr. [Iloilo, 5th District]
  62. Reynaldo Umali [Oriental Mindoro, 2nd District]
  63. Lord Allan Jay Velasco [Marinduque, Lone District]
  64. Luis Villafuerte, Sr. [Camarines Sur, 3rd District]
  65. Arthur Yap [Bohol, 3rd District]

Also, four former members of the 15th Congress are also lawyers:

  1. Joseph Emilio Abaya [Cavite, 1st District]; resigned in October 2012 to fulfill duties as DOTC Secretary
  2. Erico Aumentado [Bohol, 2nd District]; died on December 25, 2012
  3. Antonio Diaz [Zambales, 3rd District]; died on August 3, 2011
  4. David Kho [SENIOR CITIZENS Party-list]; resigned on December 3, 2011

2 thoughts on “Lawyers in the 15th Congress of the Philippines (Initial List)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s